Office of Medical Student Education

The Office of Medical Student Education (OMSE) oversees the curriculum for the MD program at Washington University School of Medicine. Coordinating closely with the Office of Education, which supports educators across the continuum of medical education (MD, GME and CME), we also provide professional development opportunities, as well as material, technical and research support for MD course masters.

Our mission is to cultivate the best environment in which medical education and instruction can flourish. To achieve this, our office:

  • Provides support to enhance the administrative, technical, and professional expertise of faculty and staff.
  • Provides the necessary resources to create a collaborative and amiable environment that allows students and faculty to excel in teaching and learning.
  • Monitors local and national environments to inform continuous development.
  • Continuously searches for new ways to strengthen and expand faculty and curriculum development programs and implement innovative teaching initiatives.

Allyson R. Zazulia, MD, professor of neurology and of radiology, accepts Professor of the Year award from the Class of 2017. Medical students present the Distinguished Service Teaching Awards to course masters each fall. Photo: Jerry Naunheim, Jr.

Specifically, our office is responsible for:


 

Contact information

Office Location: Bernard Becker Medical Library, Room 301 (third floor)
660 S. Euclid Ave. St. Louis, MO 63110
Mailing address: 660 S. Euclid Ave. CB 8214, St. Louis, MO 63110
Fax: 314-362-3439
Hours: 8:30 am-5:00 pm, Monday-Friday

Thomas De Fer, MD, FACP
Interim Associate Dean for Medical Student Education
314-362-7122
tdefer@wustl.edu

Executive Secretary for the Associate Dean
for Medical Student Education
314-362-7122
Kathy Diemer, MD
Assistant Dean of Career Counseling
314-362-6251
diemerk@wustl.edu
Angie MacBryde
Program Coordinator
Career Counseling
314-362-6251
macbrydea@wustl.edu
Melanie Smigielski
Manager Curriculum Office:  Fourth Year Electives
314-747-3854
melanie_smigielski@wustl.edu
Hanah Paluga
Secretary for Curriculum
314-362-6838
palugah@wustl.edu
Melissa DeHart
Administrative Coordinator
314-362-3575
melissadehart@wustl.edu

Education Technology Specialist
Jamie Breuer
Manager
Curriculum Support
314-362-7636
breuerj@wustl.edu
Sara Spears
Course Manager
Practice of Medicine
314-362-3480
spears.sara@wustl.edu
Suki Lammers
Administrative Coordinator
314-273-1812
lammerss@wustl.edu
Christine Chettle
Course Coordinator
Practice of Medicine
314-286-2546
cchettle@wustl.edu
Phillip Blevins
Coordinator
Curriculum Support
314-747-5051
blevinp@wustl.edu
Rashad Whittier
Coordinator
Curriculum Support
314-362-3469
whittierr@wustl.edu

Linda Hanson

Coordinator
Curriculum Support
314-362-3442
hansonl@wustl.edu

Molly McHatton

Secretary
Practice of Medicine
314-286-1062
mmchatton@wustl.edu