Office of Medical Student Education

The Office of Medical Student Education (OMSE) oversees the curriculum for the MD program at Washington University School of Medicine. Coordinating closely with the Office of Education, which supports educators across the continuum of medical education (MD, GME and CME), we also provide professional development opportunities, as well as material, technical and research support for MD course masters.

Our mission is to cultivate the best environment in which medical education and instruction can flourish. To achieve this, our office:

  • Provides support to enhance the administrative, technical, and professional expertise of faculty and staff.
  • Provides the necessary resources to create a collaborative and amiable environment that allows students and faculty to excel in teaching and learning.
  • Monitors local and national environments to inform continuous development.
  • Continuously searches for new ways to strengthen and expand faculty and curriculum development programs and implement innovative teaching initiatives.

Steven Cheng, MD, associate professor of medicine and course director of renal and genitourinary diseases, accepts Professor of the Year award from the Class of 2019 and class President, Nirbhay Jain. Medical students present the Distinguished Service Teaching Awards to course directors each fall.

Specifically, our office is responsible for:


Tom De Fer, MD, Associate Dean of Medical Student Education

Contact information

Office Location: Bernard Becker Medical Library, Room 301 (third floor)
660 S. Euclid Ave. St. Louis, MO 63110
Mailing address: 660 S. Euclid Ave. CB 8214, St. Louis, MO 63110
Fax: 314-362-3439
Hours: 8:30 am-5:00 pm, Monday-Friday

 

Thomas De Fer, MD, FACP
Associate Dean
Medical Student Education
314-362-7122
tdefer@wustl.edu
Katie Palacios
Executive Secretary
Associate Dean for Medical Student Education
314-362-7122
kathrynpalacios@wustl.edu
Carolyn Dufault, PhD
Assistant Dean
Educational Technology & Innovation
314-362-3736
cdufault@wustl.edu
Sabrina Nunez, PhD
Assistant Dean
Curriculum and Foundational Sciences
314-747-0835
snunez@wustl.edu
Kelly Noll
Director
Office of Medical Student Education
314-362-3439
nollk@wustl.edu
Emily W. Thompson, PhD
Director
Educational Technology & Innovation
314-273-9080
emilywthompson@wustl.edu
Jamie Breuer
Manager
Curriculum Support
314-362-7636
breuerj@wustl.edu
Jason Crustals, MA
Manager
Educational Technology & Innovation
314-362-8709
crustalsj@wustl.edu
Melissa DeHart
Manager
Selectives, Capstone & Threads
314-362-3575
melissadehart@wustl.edu
Melanie Smigielski
Manager
Fourth Year Electives & Visiting Students
314-747-3854
melanie_smigielski@wustl.edu
Sara Spears, MS
Course Manager
Practice of Medicine
314-362-3480
spears.sara@wustl.edu
Phillip Blevins
Coordinator
Office of Medical Student Education
314-747-5051
blevinp@wustl.edu
Christine Chettle
Coordinator
Office of Medical Student Education
314-286-2546
cchettle@wustl.edu
Keanna Compton
Coordinator
Office of Medical Student Education
314-362-6838
kcompton@wustl.edu
Linda Hanson
Coordinator
Office of Medical Student Education
314-362-3442
hansonl@wustl.edu
Amy Kelly
Coordinator
Office of Medical Student Education
314-273-1812
abkelly@wustl.edu
Kathleen Nymberg
Coordinator
Office of Medical Student Education
314-286-1062
knymberg@wustl.edu
Rakshitha Rajanna, MS
Education Technology Specialist
Educational Technology & Innovation
314-747-9135
rakshitha.rajanna@wustl.edu
Matthew Reid
Coordinator
Office of Medical Student Education
314-273-1823
mreid24@wustl.edu
Rhashad Whittier
Coordinator
Office of Medical Student Education
314-362-3469
whittierr@wustl.edu