Office of Medical Student Education

Steven Cheng, MD, associate professor of medicine and course director of renal and genitourinary diseases, accepts Professor of the Year award from the Class of 2019 and class President, Nirbhay Jain.

The Office of Medical Student Education (OMSE) oversees the curriculum for the MD program at Washington University School of Medicine. Coordinating closely with the Office of Education, which supports educators across the continuum of medical education (MD, GME and CME), we also provide professional development opportunities, as well as material, technical and research support for MD course directors.

Our mission is to cultivate the best environment in which medical education and instruction can flourish. To achieve this, our office:

  • Provides support to enhance the administrative, technical, and professional expertise of faculty and staff.
  • Provides the necessary resources to create a collaborative and amiable environment that allows students and faculty to excel in teaching and learning.
  • Monitors local and national environments to inform continuous development.
  • Continuously searches for new ways to strengthen and expand faculty and curriculum development programs and implement innovative teaching initiatives.

Specifically, our office is responsible for:

Contact information

Office Location: Bernard Becker Medical Library, Room 301 (Third Floor)
660 S. Euclid Ave. St. Louis, MO 63110
Mailing address: 660 S. Euclid Ave. CB 8214, St. Louis, MO 63110
Phone: 314-273-OMSE (6673)
Fax: 314-362-6951
Hours: 8:00 am-5:00 pm, Monday-Friday


Our team

The goal of the Office of Medical Student Education at Washington University School of Medicine is to educate the doctors of the future and to do so in an academic and supportive environment using evidence-based educational methods.

Thomas De Fer, MD, FACP
Associate Dean of Medical Student Education
314-362-7122
tdefer@wustl.edu
k.coursault@wustl.edu (Executive Secretary)

 

Carolyn Dufault, PhD
Assistant Dean
Educational Technology & Innovation
cdufault@wustl.edu
Steven J. Lawrence, MD, MSc
Assistant Dean for Curriculum
slawrenc@wustl.edu
Amanda Emke, MD
Assistant Dean for Student Assessment
emke_a@wustl.edu
Kelly Mock, EdD
Director, Curriculum and
Student Affairs
kmock@wustl.edu
Katie Coursault
Executive Secretary
Associate Dean for Medical Student Education
k.coursault@wustl.edu
Melissa DeHart
Sr. Manager
melissadehart@wustl.edu
Jason Crustals, MA
Manager
Educational Technology & Innovation
crustalsj@wustl.edu
Kathleen Nymberg
Program Manager, Assessment
knymberg@wustl.edu
Antonia Pappas
Program Manager
antonia.pappas@wustl.edu
Amy Miller, MEd
Program Manager
amy.miller@wustl.edu
Jasmine Willis
Program Manager
jasminew@wustl.edu

Karen Martinez
Senior Curriculum Coordinator
karenmartinez@wustl.edu
Abby Gatzke
Curriculum Coordinator
gatzke@wustl.edu
Molly Friedrich
Curriculum Coordinator
fmolly@wustl.edu
Alexandria Younge
Curriculum Coordinator
ayounge@wustl.edu
Hope Mabrey
Curriculum Coordinator
hopem@wustl.edu
Kathy Crowley
Curriculum Coordinator
kathleencz@wustl.edu
Shanique Ferguson
Curriculum Coordinator
d.ferguson@wustl.edu
Cory Brant
Educational Technology Support Specialist
brantc@wustl.edu